Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series Visits Clay Valley on Friday April 12, 2019

Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series Visits Clay Valley on Friday April 12, 2019

Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series Visits Clay Valley and Smoky Mountain on April 12-13

 By Chris Tilley, Series Publicist

 BRASSTOWN, NC (April 7, 2019)—After a week off, the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels will return to action for Rounds Five and Six of the 2019 campaign.

 On Friday Night April 12th the tour will make the first-ever appearance to Clay Valley Speedway in Coeburn, Va. racing 40 laps for $4,000-to-win. The former Lonesome Pine Raceway was recently converted over to dirt and will host the first big special event on April 12th. In addition to the Super Late Models, the Crate Late Models, Open Wheels and Pure 4’s will be in action. The pit gate will open at 4:00 pm, the drivers meeting will begin at 6:30 pm and hot laps to follow at 7:00 pm. Adult general admission is $20.00 while adult pit passes are $40.00.

 On Saturday Night April 13th the tour will make its first appearance to Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. since 2016. The Spring Nationals Late Models will race 50 laps for $10,000-to-win and $500-to-start. In addition, the American Crate All Stars Series will race for $2,000-to-win and the Sportsman Late Models will compete for $800-to-win. The pit gates open at 2:00 pm, while the grandstand and tier parking gates open at 4:00 pm and the drivers meeting is slated for 6:00 pm with hot laps to follow around 6:30 pm. Adult general admission is $25.00, adult tier parking admission is $30.00 per person while adult pit passes are $35.00.

 In the first four events on the tour, there have been three different winners. Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., the current Series point leader has won two events at Oglethorpe Speedway Park and Talladega Short Track. Chris Ferguson collected $10,000 at Cochran Motor Speedway and Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C. collected $10,000 at Senoia Raceway. Dale McDowell leads the point standings with a 26-point lead over Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga. Third is youngster Ashton Winger of Senoia, Ga. while Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga. and John Henderson of North Augusta, S.C. round out the top-five in the current point standings after four events.

 Former winners at Smoky Mountain include: Scott Bloomquist (2016), Casey Roberts (2015), Billy Ogle Jr. (2014), and Tommy Kerr (2013).
The tire rule for the Clay Valley and Smoky Mountain events is: Hoosier 1350 and 1600 along with the American Racer 48 and 56 compounds.

 Clay Valley Speedway is located at 10802 Old Norton Coeburn Road in Coeburn, VA 24230. For more information on Clay Valley Speedway, call (276) 395-5155 or log on .

 Smoky Mountain Speedway is located at 809 Brickmill Road in Maryville, TN 37802. For more information on Smoky Mountain Speedway, call (865) 856-8989 or log on .

 Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals or Fall Nationals Series, please log on to or call Series Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or PR Director/Announcer Chris Tilley at (828) 361-5981.

 Clay Valley Speedway Purse (40 Laps): 1) $4,000, 2) $2,000, 3) $1,400, 4) $1,000, 
5) $800, 6) $700, 7) $600, 8) $550, 9) $525, 10) $500, 11) $480, 12) $470, 13) $460, 14) $450, 15) $440, 16) $430, 17) $420, 18) $410, 19) $400, 20) $400, 21) $400, 22) $400.

 Smoky Mountain Speedway Purse (50 laps): 1) $10,000, 2) $5,000, 3) $2,500, 4) $2,000, 5) $1,500, 6) $1,100, 7) $1,000, 8) $950, 9) $900, 10) $850, 11) $800, 12) $750, 13) $650, 14) $600, 15) $550, 16) $530, 17) $520, 18) $500, 19) $500, 20) $500, 21) $500, 22) $500.

Current Schaeffer’s Spring Nationals Series Points (after Round Four on March 30)

1. Dale McDowell-786

2. Donald McIntosh-760

3. Ashton Winger-744

4. Michael Page-732

5. John Henderson-694

6. Austin Horton-554

7. Ivedent Lloyd, Jr.-542

8. Casey Roberts-540

9. Tyler Millwood-508

10. Jimmy Owens-384


2019 Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series Schedule:

March 22-Oglethorpe Speedway Park-Pooler, GA-DALE MCDOWELL

March 23-Cochran Motor Speedway-Cochran, GA-CHRIS FERGUSON

March 29-Talladega Short Track-Eastaboga, AL-$4,000 to win DALE MCDOWELL

March 30-Senoia Raceway-Senoia, GA-$10,000 to win CHRIS MADDEN

April 12-Clay Valley Speedway-Coeburn, VA-$4,000 to win

April 13-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-$10,000 to win

April 19-Blue Ridge Motorsports Park-Blue Ridge, GA-$4,000 to win

April 20-Toccoa Raceway-Toccoa, GA-$10,000 to win

May 17-Crossville Speedway-Crossville, TN-$4,000 to win

May 18-Thunderhill Raceway-Summertown, TN-$10,000 to win

May 24-Tri-County Race Track-Brasstown, NC-$4,000 to win

May 25-Dixie Speedway-Woodstock, GA-$4,000 to win

May 26-Rome Speedway-Rome, GA-$5,000 to win

May 27-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN-$10,000 to win